Skip to main content

Porsche Carrera Cup Asia, Rounds 9 & 10
October 22-24, 2010
Shanghai International Circuit, China

GT Spectacular Revs Up for Championship Deciders

Having wowed the crowds at the 2010 FORMULA 1 SINGTEL SINGAPORE GRAND PRIX last month, the Porsche Carrera Cup Asia now heads to China for the final, championship-deciding races of the season in Shanghai and Zhuhai.

First up is a two-race meeting at the Shanghai International Circuit next week as part of the China Touring Car Championship. The drivers are all familiar with the 5.5km track as it was here the 2010 season got underway in April in support of the 2010 FORMULA 1 CHINESE GRAND PRIX. Then, it was reigning champion Christian Menzel of Team StarChase who took pole position and two wins, with FIA World Touring Car Championship regular Darryl O’Young second in both races.

This time though, Menzel will be even more determined to take victory in Shanghai having seen his season-long reign at the top of the championship leaderboard whipped from under him in Singapore by New Zealand’s Craig Baird, competing there with SC Global Racing. The Team PCS Racing regular’s two stunning victories on the Marina Bay street circuit give him a four point lead over the German with just four races to go.

However, the overall 2010 Porsche Carrera Cup Asia championship race is still wide open, with a staggering 13 drivers in with a mathematical chance of lifting the title.

Still very much in contention for title honours this season are Red Bull Racing’s Marchy Lee of Hong Kong, who has two victories plus four podium finishes to his name so far, and Class B championship leader Mok Weng Sun, Baird’s team mate at Team PCS Racing. Mok’s perfect score card of uninterrupted pole positions and wins in Class B this season have put him right up with the Class

A challengers in the points.

Team Jebsen’s Rodolfo Avila, competing in just his second Porsche Carrera Cup Asia season and only his third in sportscars, will be keen to get back to the Shanghai track which he knows well after a clutch problem saw him retire fromthe second race there in April.

In Class B, Mok will no doubt be looking forward to continuing his on-track rivalry with friend Ringo Chong of Team Kangshun. However, the strong entry in the category this year is rapidly gaining pace as the season progresses.

Series newcomer Francis Tjia of OpenRoad Racing lies just six points adrift of Chong, while fellow Hong Kong driver Wayne Shen of Modena Motorsports is four points behind him.

Likewise, Frenchman Jean Marc Merlin has put in some stellar performances this year, while a DNF in Beijing for Jeffrey Lee of Pauian Archiland Team in May put a dent in an otherwise impressive season. There’s more to come too from young gun Yuey Tan of Wimobilize McElrea Racing.

Making his Porsche Carrera Cup Asia debut at the weekend will be guest driver Benny Lim of Hong Kong, who takes over driving duties at Jacob & Co Racing from series regular and reigning Class B champion Philip Ma.

The competition could not be more intense as the region’s premier GT championship prepares for its four-race charge to the final chequered flag of the 2010 season, and the crowning of two Porsche Carrera Cup Asia champions.

Supporting the Porsche Carrera Cup Asia are two of the most recognised names in international motorsport, Mobil1 and Michelin. Mobil and Porsche have been partners since 1996. Close co-operation in research and development has led to every new Porsche engine being filled with Mobil1 high-performance lubricant. Porsche Carrera Cup Asia drivers also have the advantage of racing on cutting-edge tyres supplied by series partner Michelin. The consistent performance and leading technology of Michelin tyres constantly improve the performance of many teams in international motorsport. The partnership between Michelin and the Porsche Carrera Cup Asia has emerged from a worldwide agreement signed between Porsche AG and the Michelin group.

The Porsche Carrera Cup Asia is organised and promoted by Malaysian based Motorsport Asia Ltd.

Provisional Entry List

Comp No.DriverClassEntrant
2Kenneth LAU (HKG)BDynaten Motorsports (HKG
5Yuey TAN (SIN)BWimobilize McElrea Racing (SIN)
7Jeffrey LEE (TPE)BTeam Pauian Archiland (TPE)
8Michael CHOI (HKG)BDynaten Motorsports (HKG)
11Ringo CHONG (SIN)BTeam Kangshun (CHN)
12Morris KU Yee-Lung (HKG)BTeam DAYCRAFT (HKG)
16Wayne SHEN (HKG)BModena Motorsports (HKG)
18Marcel TJIA (HKG)BOpenRoad Racing (HKG)
20Rodolfo AVILA (MAC)ATeam Jebsen (HKG)
21Francis TJIA (HKG)BOpenRoad Racing (HKG)
25Christian CHIA (CAN)BOpenRoad Racing (HKG
28John SHEN (HKG)BModena Motorsports (HKG)
32Craig BAIRD (NZL)ATeam PCS Racing (SIN)
33MOK Weng Sun (SIN)BTeam PCS Racing (SIN)
38Marchy LEE (HKG)ARed Bull Racing (HKG)
55Darryl O’YOUNG (HKG)ALKM Racing Team (HKG)
59Philip BRIANDET (SIN)BShift2neutral Racing (SIN)
64Jean Marc MERLIN (FRA)BTeam J2M Racing (FRA)
77Jacky Yeung (HKG)BJacky Yeung (HKG)
88Shim Ching (CAN)BShim Ching (CAN)
98*Benny Lim (HKG)BJacob & Co Racing (HKG)
99Christian MENZEL (GER)ATeam StarChase (CHN)

*Guest Driver


For information and images of Porsche Carrera Cups worldwide, including Asia, please visit


Connect with Porsche Club Malaysia